User rights in "Visual Explorer"

Visual Explorer Connector

In order to access Visual Explorer Connector you need the Author role. Subtenant users cannot use Visual Explorer Connector irrespective of the assigned role.

Visual Explorer

Visual Explorer adopts the user rights from Settings.

The user rights depend on the following user roles:

  • Publisher

  • Viewer

  • Interactor

Right

Role

Publisher

Viewer

Interactor

Use Visual Explorer

Create visualizations

View visualizations

Create Alerts

License types user rights

You can purchase Visual Explorer in the license types Creator or Viewer. The following table shows the differences between the license types:

License type

App access

Visual Explorer Role

Creator

  • Visual Explorer

  • Visual Explorer Connector

  • Publisher

  • Interactor

Viewer

  • Visual Explorer

  • Viewer

See Tableau® help for details regarding the roles.

For more information about the license types see MindSphere Supplemental Terms.

Quota for license types

For each license type and package size you have a specific quota of licenses.

You consume a license if the following conditions apply:

  • The tenant administrator assigned a role to a MindSphere user.

  • The same user is logged into Visual Explorer.

A user cannot log in when all the licenses of a license type are consumed. However, the existing users will not be affected.

NOTE

All licenses in use

Sharing a license among multiple users is not permitted and therefore, licenses cannot be reassigned frequently. In case you need to reassign one of your licenses, contact the MindSphere support. The tenant administrator cannot reassign licenses.

E.g. Revoking the access to Visual Explorer via Settings application does not withdraw the license from the user. As a consequence, the user cannot log in but remains on the server and still consumes a license.

Example

Visual Explorer with Viewer offering small, grants access to 20 users with Viewer role. The first 20 users with the Viewer role can access the application. After the 20th user, no other user can access the application. From the 21st user, an error message will be displayed informing about the acquired and consumed licenses.