Upgrade a self hosted application (without downtime)

The following section describes the procedure to upgrade a self hosted application to a new version. This procedure is advantageous since the users will be able to access the application even during the upgrade or downgrade process.

The following procedure is applicable even if:

  • The application has a requirement for app credentials.

  • The application versions have different set of roles assigned.

Upgrade a self hosted application (without downtime)

To upgrade a self hosted application, proceed with the following steps:

NOTE

  • It is only possible to use a single version for an application at a time.

  • If two versions of an application have different role descriptions defined, then the role description of the second version of the application will be reflected in "Settings" only after the version upgrade process is successful.

  1. In the "My Applications" screen, select the self hosted application that you want to upgrade.

  2. Click the "Versions" tab and click "Register to Test".

    123385771403.png

    The status of the registration can also be viewed in the "Versions" screen.

    123385963147.png
  3. Click "Confirm Update". In the confirmation dialog, click "Yes" to upgrade the application to the new version.

NOTE

If either versions of an application has a requirement for app credentials, then by default the provisioning of the IoT tenants to the next version will take place automatically during version upgrade.

However, the IoT tenants can deny this by clicking on the "Deny" button in the email received. If this button is clicked, then the previous application version will not be activated, instead the application will be inaccessible by the IoT tenant users. Also, an operator is notified about the denial of the provisioning via an email and UI notification under Events in the "Message" tab of "Inbox".

Downgrade a self hosted application

To downgrade a self hosted application, proceed with the following steps:

  1. In the "My Applications" window, select the application for which you want to activate the previous version.

  2. In the "Versions" tab, click "Register to Test" and click "Confirm Reactivate". In the confirmation dialog, click "Yes" to proceed with the downgrade.