Open Edge Device Kit - Offboarding Devices - Developer Documentation - Developer Documentation
Skip to content

Offboarding Devices

In order to terminate the communication between devices and Insights Hub, devices have to be offboarded from Insights Hub. The offboarding command is sent by the Asset Manager after the user clicks the respective button. The device can continue to upload data until its token expires (max 1hour).

When the token becomes invalid, the Open Edge Device Kit deletes sensitive data (data source configurations, proxy settings and credentials) from the device's disk. Then it publishes the status Offboarded using the topic agentruntime/monitoring/diagnostic/onboarding. If the device is turned off before this message is published, sensitive data will remain on the device's disk.

After offboarding, the Open Edge Device Kit must be restarted as described in the Getting Started sections before onboarding the device again:


Last update: April 13, 2023

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under the Development License Agreement.