Skip to content

User Management

Managing users

User types

Settings allows you to create users with their email addresses and manage their permissions.

You can create the following user types in Settings:

  • Global users: Users have access to all tenants.
  • Subtenant users: These users are assigned to a subtenant and only have access to assets of a specific subtenant.

Note

Subtenant user

A subtenant user needs the role to get access to applications on the launchpad. See also * Standard roles * Using subtenants

For a better management of users and to assign roles to multiple users, Settings offers the creation of user groups.

User interface "Users"

The following screenshot shows the "Users" user interface:
User Interface ① Opens a dialog to create a new user
② Shows the name and email address of the user
③ Shows the user type
④ Shows the user groups assigned to the user
⑤ Activates or deactivates the user
⑥ Deletes the selected user
⑦ Switches to "Roles" tab
⑧ Shows the roles assigned to the user

Creating users

You can create global users or subtenant users.

Note

Quota consumption The creation of a user reduces your quota.

Note

Creating the subtenant You can create a new subtenant for new users. For more information on subtenants, refer to the section Using subtenants (Page 49).

Procedure

To create a new user in Settings, proceed as follows:

  1. Open the "Users" interface and click create user "Create user".
  2. The "Create user" interface opens.
  3. Enter a name and the email address of the user.
  4. Select the user type "Global user" or "Subtenant user".
  5. If there is no subtenant available, click "Create subtenant" and create a subtenant.
  6. If you selected "Subtenant user", select a subtenant.
  7. Click "Create user".
  8. In order to assign a role to the user, click "Assign roles".
  9. Select a role and click "Next".
  10. You can find more information about roles in chapter Standard roles.
  11. In order to save the settings, click "Save".
  12. In order to close the settings, click "Close".

Result

You have created a new user and assigned a role. The new user is now activated and will receive an email with access instructions for the tenant. After the user has logged in the first time, the first name and last name of the user is displayed in Settings.

Activate or deactivate users

You can activate and deactivate users in Settings. Activated users have access to their assigned apps and services. You may temporarily deny users access to MindSphere and its services by deactivating them. Reactivated users obtain automatically their previously assigned permissions.

Procedure

To activate or deactivate a user, proceed as follows:

  1. In the navigation area, click "Users".
  2. In the selection list, select the user.
  3. Click "Activate" or "Deactivate" to activate or deactivate the user.
  4. The "Activate user" or "Deactivate user" dialog opens.
  5. Confirm activation or deactivation.

Result

You activated or deactivated the user.

Deleting users

Procedure

Note

Data security notice Delete users immediately if they are no longer part of your business.

To delete a user, proceed as follows:

  1. In the navigation area, click "Users".
  2. In the selection list, select the user to be deleted.
  3. Click "Delete" to delete the user.
  4. The "Delete user" dialog opens.
  5. Confirm deletion with "Yes".

Result

You deleted the user from Settings.

Edit user role assignment

You can assign roles to a user in the "User" tab or assign user to a role in the "Roles" tab. You can find more information about roles in the section Roles.

Procedure

In order to assign or remove roles to a user proceed as follows:

  1. In the navigation area, click on "Users".
  2. Select the user in the selection list.
  3. Click "Edit direct assignment".
  4. A dialog box appears with a list of available roles.
  5. Select or deselect the appropriate check boxes to assign or unassign roles to the selected user.
  6. To confirm the changes, click "Next".
  7. To save the changes, click "Save".
  8. In order to close the settings, click "Close".

Result

You have assigned or removed a role to a user.

Note

The corresponding user must log in again for the changes to become effective.

Any questions left?

Ask the community


Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under the MindSphere Development License Agreement.


Last update: April 22, 2022