Skip to content

Management

Retention rules

"Retention rules" gives you control on how long data is stored in your account. You might for example want to store measurements for 90 days, but delete alarms already after 10 days. By default, all historical data is deleted after 60 days (configurable in the system settings).

Retention rules are usually run during the night. When you edit a retention rule, you will not see an immediate effect in the Usage section on the Home screen of the Administration application.

Click "Retention rules" in the Management menu to view a list of retention rules configured for your account.

For each rule, the rule name, details on the data to be deleted (fragment type, type and source, see below) and the maximum age in days is provided.

The asterisk ("*") indicates that data with any value will be cleaned up.

Creating retention rules

To add additional retention rules, click "Add rule" in the top menu bar.

Create retention rule

Note

Per default, an asterisk ("*") is set in all fields except the "Maximum age" field, to include all values.

  1. Select the type of data to be cleaned up (alarms, measurements, events, operations, audit logs or all).
  2. Enter a fragment type if you want to be more specific about the data to be cleaned up. To clean up all connection loss alarms with this rule, select "alarms" and enter "c8y_UnavailabilityAlarm" as property into the "Type" field.
  3. If you want to remove data only from a specific device, enter the device ID into the "Source" field.
  4. Enter the "Maximum age" in days (max. allowed value is 10 years in days).
  5. Click "Save" to create the rule.

Note

Alarms are only removed if they are in CLEARED state.

To delete a rule, hover over it and click the "Delete" button at the right.

Managing files in the file repository

The file repository provides an overview of the files stored in your account.

Managing file repository

① Files repository menu

② Upload file option

③ Download file option

④ Delete file option

Click "Files repository" in the Management menu to see a list of files.

The files listed can come from various sources. They can be software images, configuration snapshots taken from devices, log files from devices or web applications uploaded from the Own applications page.

For each file, the name of the file, its owner, the file type (i.e. image/bmp, text/csv), its size and the date when it was last updated is provided.

To upload a file from your computer, click "Upload file" in the top menu bar.

To download a file from your account, click the menu icon and from the context menu select "Download".

To delete a file from your account, click "Delete" in the context menu.

Note

If the file corresponds to an active application, it cannot be deleted. You first need to remove or upgrade the application to be able to delete it.

Any questions left?

Ask the community


Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under the MindSphere Development License Agreement.


Last update: May 9, 2022