User rights in "Insights Hub Business Intelligence" - Developer Documentation
Skip to content

User rights

Insights Hub Business Intelligence Data

In order to access Insights Hub Business Intelligence Data, you need the Author role. Subtenant users cannot use Insights Hub Business Intelligence Data irrespective of the assigned role.

For creating, viewing, editing or deleting a data source in Insights Hub Business Intelligence Data, you need to have the corresponding permission in Insights Hub Business Intelligence.

Insights Hub Business Intelligence

Insights Hub Business Intelligence adopts the user rights from Settings.

The user rights depend on the following user roles:

  • Publisher
  • Viewer
  • Interactor
  • Administrator
Right Role: Viewer Role: Interactor Role: Publisher Role: Administrator
Use Insights Hub Business Intelligence 🗸 🗸 🗸 🗸
View visualizations 🗸 🗸 🗸 🗸
Create Alerts 🗸 🗸 🗸
Create visualizations 🗸 🗸
Manage groups and projects 🗸

See Tableau® help for details regarding the roles.

License types

You can purchase Insights Hub Business Intelligence in the license types Creator or Viewer. The following table shows the differences between the license types:

License type Insights Hub Business Intelligence Role
Creator Publisher, Interactor, Administrator
Viewer Viewer

For more information about the license types see Supplemental Terms.

Licensing

According to the purchased packages, you have a specific quota of licenses for each license type.

Assigning one of the Insights Hub Business Intelligence user roles above entitles for acquisition of a corresponding license. Users will automatically acquire a license by opening Insights Hub Business Intelligence for the first time.

Sharing a license among multiple users is not permitted and therefore, licenses cannot be reassigned frequently. Hence, neither tenant administrators nor Insights Hub Business Intelligence Administrators are allowed to reassign licenses. Insights Hub Business Intelligence Administrators can review the list of users and their current license assignment in the 'Users' menu of Insights Hub Business Intelligence.

Revoking access to Insights Hub Business Intelligence via the Settings application does not immediately withdraw the license from the user. As a consequence, the user cannot log in, but remains on the server and still consumes a license. When the access has been revoked and the license has not been used for more than four weeks, it will automatically be removed from the user and will become available again.


Last update: May 26, 2023